651.395.5900Twitter_bird_icon

School Board

School Board

The School Board provides governance to St. Croix Preparatory Academy.  The Board’s primary responsibilities are fiscal oversight, student achievement, and strategic direction.  The Board consists of parents, faculty, and community members voted into office by the St. Croix Prep community.  Members serve staggering three year terms with annual elections determining new membership.

Public Hearing Notice, June 27, 2017

The School Board of St. Croix Preparatory Academy will hold a public hearing regarding 2017-2018 Student Fees not specifically permitted or prohibited by Minnesota statute.  The hearing will be held on Tuesday, June 27, 2017 at 6:00 pm. at St. Croix Preparatory Academy.  For the Public Hearing Notice, click here.

School Board Meeting Schedule for the 2016-2017 School Year

2016-2017 Meeting dates are:

  • July 19, 2016
  • August 2, 2016 – Special Meeting
  • August 23, 2016 – canceled
  • September 20, 2016
  • October 18, 2016
  • November 15, 2016
  • December 20, 2016
  • January 24, 2017
  • February 21, 2017
  • March 7, 2017 – Special Meeting at 5:00 pm.
  • March 28, 2017
  • April 18, 2017
  • May 16, 2017
  • June 27, 2017

For a draft agenda for the June 27 meeting, click here.
For approved board minutes, click here.
All meetings are held at St. Croix Prep, with meetings starting at 6:00 pm.

Governance Model

Since its inception, St. Croix Preparatory Academy has followed the Carver governance model.  This model is designed to empower boards of directors to fulfill their obligations of accountability for the organizations they govern.  The model enables the board to focus on the larger issues (e.g. fiscal accountability, student achievement, and strategic initiatives), delegate operational responsibility with clarity (e.g. hiring, curriculum, student discipline, programming, etc.), to oversee management’s job without meddling, and to rigorously evaluate the accomplishment of the organization.

The Board of St. Croix Prep demands accomplishment of purpose and only limits the staff’s means to those which do not violate the board’s understood standards of prudence and ethics.

  • For more information on the Carver Governance Model, please click here.
  • For a copy of St. Croix Preparatory Academy’s Bylaws, click here.
  • For a copy of St. Croix Preparatory Academy’s Charter Contract, click here.

Board Members

Jim Markoe
Board Chair and Community Member
manitouisland@comcast.net
Shane Mueller
Board Vice Chair and Parent
shane.mueller@comcast.net
Nicole Donnay
Teacher
ndonnay@stcroixprep.org
Deb Keyes
Teacher
dkeyes@stcroixprep.org
Peggy Rosell
Teacher
prosell@stcroixprep.org
Angie Schumacher 
Teacher
aschumacher@stcroixprep.org
Bob Hajlo
Parent
Robert.Hajlo@gmail.com
Beth Harrison
Parent
beth@blueboat.net
Susan Peterson
Parent
sjpeterson005@gmail.com

Advisory Board Members

Jon Gutierrez
Executive Director
jgutierrez@stcroixprep.org
Kelly Gutierrez
Chief Operating Officer
kgutierrez@stcroixprep.org
Joann Karetov
Lower School Principal
jkaretov@stcroixprep.org
Wanda Renner
Middle School Principal
wrenner@stcroixprep.org
Andrew Sachariason
Upper School Principal
asachariason@stcroixprep.org
Cori Wahl
Special Ed Director
cwahl@stcroixprep.org